So a new semester has begun at the community college where I teach.
I work with quite a few nurses who have been teaching in the lab for years. They all go way back and have to be some of the cattiest broads I've met in my young life. They are sweet as pie to each other's faces, and turn around and proceed to talk shit about them, how they lecture, or make fun of them. Wow. I thought they left junior high back 40 years ago. Guess not.
Is this a lesson for me in growing a thicker skin and not taking things so personally, and not taking criticism (or feigned friendship, for that matter) to heart?
I'm already beginning to notice inconsistencies in what is taught in the lab among the different faculty. NO FUCKING WONDER the students' biggest complaint every year is "INCONSISTENCY."
And since I'm still so new, I can't really speak up and rock the boat...I mean, I could, and then I think I'd be out of a job. I'm pretty sure that's how they roll here.
At least the money is good and it's better stress than the floor.
I'm starting to feel, well, a bit more comfortable teaching. Once I stop getting mentored to the role and actually go off on my own, I think it will get better...
I have go to eat dinner with my husband now...
Nurses vs Hurricane Sandy
13 years ago
No comments:
Post a Comment